LTHS Radio recognized with national awards

Lyons Township High School’s student-run radio station, WLTL 88.1 FM, recently received national recognition at two awards ceremonies. At the 11th Annual John Drury High School Radio Awards held May 3 at North Central College in Naperville, WLTL received second place in the Best High School Radio Station in the Nation and individual top finishes in eight categories. WLTL was also honored at the Communicator Awards competition with two Awards of Distinction.


The Drury Awards are fiercely competed for by high school radio programs across the country.  WLTL was nominated for 17 awards in eight of the ten different categories.  Congratulations to the following WLTL staffers:


1st Place

Best News Feature:  Nikia Lenef ’14 of LaGrange Park

Best Sports Play-By-Play:  Jonathan Janas ’14 of LaGrange Park and Mike Maicke ’13 of  Western Springs


2nd Place

Newscast:  Nikia Lenef ’14 of LaGrange Park

Public Affairs Program:  Adrian Petterson ’14 of LaGrange

Public Service Announcement:  Collin Thomas ’13 of Western Springs, Lisa Jonas ’13 of Western Springs, and Joey Rocco ’13 of LaGrange Park


3rd Place

Newscast:  Brendan Dzwierzynski ’13 of LaGrange Park

Sports Talk Program:  Jonathan Janas ’14 of LaGrange Park, Dan Devine ’15 of LaGrange, Mike Maicke ’13 of Western Springs, and Matt Gertsmeier ’14 of LaGrange

Sports Update:  Mike Maicke ’13 of Western Springs


In the category of Best High School Radio Station in the Nation, WLTL finished in second place out of nearly 200 eligible stations. 


At the Communicator Awards, WLTL earned recognition in the Public Service Announcement and Promotion categories. The Award of Distinction is only given out to those entries that rank in the top 15% of all entries received. 


Award winners include Christine Pond ’13, of LaGrange Highlands for a 3-2-1 Promo and Conor Wiegmann ’15 of Western Springs along with Tommy Baker ’15 of Western Springs for a Sportsmanship PSA.



With thousands of entries received from across the U.S. and around the world, the Communicator Awards is the largest and most competitive awards program honoring the creative excellence for communications professionals. Founded about two decades ago, the program receives over 6,000 entries annually. The competition is open to all broadcasters, including high school, college and professional stations and production houses both nationally and internationally.  The Communicator Awards are judged and overseen by the International Academy of the Visual Arts.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »